Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world is now "one big traffic jam"
How true do you think this statement is?
What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their
cars?
Over the past 50 years, people have become used to the idea
that they will probably live longer than their grandparents
did. However, a longer life is only desirable if you can look
alter yourself and be independent, otherwise there can be
disadvantages for everyone.
If you walk into a hospital in my country, you are likely to see
a lot more elderly people than you did in the past. In fact, this
is causing significant problems as there is a shortage of beds.
Medical treatment is keeping the elderly alive, but at what cost
to others?
On top of this, one of the biggest medical problems these days
is dementia. Even if old people are still fit, they may not be
able to look after themselves. They may have to live with their
children or be cared for in a home, which can be expensive.
Elderly people do not like to be a burden, but their children
can feel obliged to care for them.
Obviously, not all old people become ill. Those who remain
healthy can enjoy a happy old age as long as they have saved
enough money. People are much more active in their sixties
and seventies than they used to be and this can only be a good
thing. They have time to enjoy their retirement and do a range
of activities that they could not do when they were at work.
They can also help look after their grandchildren, which is a
great benefit for working parents.