The car is possibly the most convenient and popular way of getting from A to B. However, due to its impact on the environment and the risk it poses to pedestrians, motorists and governments should take urgent steps to reduce our dependency on this mode of transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the car is considered one of the most important types of transport among many people. However, some steps should be taken by drivers and government officials to reduce the use of this mode of transport, as it has some negative impacts on the environment and the public’s health. I agree with this point of view to some extent.

It is understandable why some believe that the car is the most convenient and popular way of commuting. Nowadays, cars have extremely grown in importance for both commuting and leisure purposes. Many people can use their own cars with no need to wait at bus stops and train stations because they can easily start their journey from their house’s door. In other words, with having a car, individuals not only can save their time to do their activities but also can have enough freedom to travel wherever and whenever they want. Additionally, during the threatening pandemics, car owners can better protect themselves and their families from infected people who use public transports. So, we have to accept that car is one of the modes of transport that the use of it cannot be too limited.

Despite the positive points mentioned above, the car can have some negative consequences. As people have become wealthier, the number of cars on the roads and streets has increased. This situation has led to increased injuries and deaths caused by traffic road accidents. In addition to this, many people and animals are in danger of air pollution created by the exhaust fuels from cars. I believe that according to these risks, it would be better for officials and motorists to address these negative outcomes. For example, governments have to encourage people to use public transports or even bicycles which are one of the environmentally friendly forms of transport. They can play an important role in the reduction of the use of cars if they try to improve public transport to such an extent that catching a bus or train becomes as convenient as travelling by car. Drivers can persuade themselves to car-share with others who make the same journey. In this way, they can also decrease their fuel costs which is a major drain on household incomes.

In conclusion, in my view, it is a good idea steps are taken into account to reduce the use of cars as long as there are other alternatives which can compensate for the convenience of cars.