Certificates in foreign languages such as IELTS, TOEFL, and TOEIC have become more popular than ever before, and many schools consider them an advantage for enrollment. Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

International English certificates such as IELTS, TOEFL, and TOEIC are becoming increasingly popular at all levels of education, and they have even become a key to prestigious high schools and universities in many parts of the world. In my opinion, this trend can be considered to be both positive and negative.

On the one hand, getting an internationally recognized certificate at any cost puts pressure on both parents and students. In fact, the fee for taking these exams is very high, up to several million dongs, not to mention a significant cost that parents and students have to spend to attend extra classes. This will become a financial burden for economically unstable families. Moreover, the popularization of such academic exams invisibly exerts negative influences on students with average and weak academic performances because they are expected to continuously complete mock tests in a very limited time to be well-prepared for the real exam. In addition, these tests are intended to assess students’ ability to use language in a variety of areas that high-school students have never approached or studied in-depth, such as medicine, art, archaeology, and business. Therefore, the probability of achieving the desired goal is very low, and not having good results might lead to some psychological disorders among teenagers/adolescents such as depression or the feeling of inferiority complex with friends.

On the other hand, such exams could be regarded as a great motivation and an advantage for the young. First, they become a lever for students to make their dreams come true. In fact, many universities give special favor to candidates with international English certificates, which means students are directly enrolled without having to take any entrance exams, saving their time and travel costs. Second, the selection of students who are excel at foreign languages will create favorable conditions for learning activities in an international environment. RMIT University is a perfect example. In addition to lessons, namely psychology and history, with local teachers, students have the opportunity to study with native professors. Accordingly, if students do not have the ability to use English well, the acquisition of knowledge will become more overwhelming.

To conclude, even though organizing such academic examinations can create stress for some students, I would argue that it is more beneficial for teenagers in particular and the education system in general in the era of integration.