Children can learn effectively from watching TV. Therefore, they should be encouraged to watch TV regularly both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given that watching TV is an effective channel for children to acquire knowledge, children as the audiences and learners should be encouraged to watch TV no matter they are at home or at school. However, I disagree with such statement.

One of the causes of the disapproval is that it exerts negative influence on children’s health. Directly, facing TV screens regularly will give them poor eyesight which is difficult to cure, no matter they are at school or at home. Another healthy problems result from watching TV regularly is obesity, in particular at home. Considering they are accustomed to lying on sofa with indispensible snacks like chocolate、crisps when they are watching TV at home, their weight is easy to gain.

Apart from health, I hold that it also begets unexpected downsides on their study. Although children could expand the scope of knowledge through watching different contents of programs, the knowledge they acquire on TV is irrelevant to their curriculum and exams. It means it cannot help children make progress and get great grades in study, but distracts them in class. In addition, unlike in school, children without enough supervision and adequate self-discipline at home, leading them to extend the time of watching TV originally set. Gradually, addition to screen might be developed, alluring them to be immersed in TV program and neglect study.

In conclusion, it is a strange encouragement, and from what I have discussed, I see no reason behind to encourage them to watch.