Children can learn effectively from watching TV. Therefore, they should be encouraged to watch TV regularly both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given that watching TV is an effective channel for children to acquire knowledge, children as the audiences and learners should be encouraged to watch TV no matter they are at home or at school. However, I disagree with such statement.

On one hand, encouraging children to watch TV regularly cannot help them make progress and get great grades in study. Although children could expand the scope of knowledge through watching different contents of programs, the knowledge they acquire on TV is irrelevant to their curriculum and exams. If children want to have further education, they must concentrate on the knowledge imparted by teachers. In addition, children lack time to watch TV at school. They stay at school about six hours a day and their school life are occupied by various courses. Even though they are allowed to watch TV regularly at school, they will argue about which programs to watch, increasing the difficulty of management.

In terms of watching TV at home, one of the leading causes of disapproval is that children lack supervision. Their parents are busy with work as well as they are short of self-discipline leading them to expand the time of watching TV. What’s worse, they could become immersed in TV programs. Moreover, it’s a waste of time. The time children spend on TV can be utilized to do other meaningful things, such as study、physical exercise. Compared to watching TV, these things are more conducive to their development.

In conclusion, it is a strange encouragement, and from what I have discussed, I see no reason behind to encourage them to watch.