Children doing froup work vs working on their own

It is said that young people should participate in formally organized group work in their free time. It is also thought independent work should be encouraged. This essay will discuss both views and provide a personal perspective on the issue.

First, there are arguments to support the idea of having children study or work on their own. The first reason may be when trying to solve problems alone, children can develop important qualities including self-discipline, self-reliance, independence, and creativity. The second reason may be related to effectiveness and end results. Many children can produce more fruitful products working alone as they are not distracted by playful activities from other friends.

On the other side, young people would also benefit to a greater extent if they join team work. In team work, children learn to be responsible to contribute their part to having a collective final result. Similarly, working in a group, they can form and train themselves other practical skills which are essential and favorable these days in modern world. Particularly in discussion and collaboration, they know how to negotiate, solve conflicts, and make compromises to reach a satisfactory agreement for all.

All in all, whether children should be encouraged to join group activities or to do individual tasks by themselves is not a neccessary debate. Both views have their merits. I support both ways of studying as long as the activities are well-supervised and monitored by adults.