City living in the 21st century is stressful and offers no advantages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although some aspects of city living can be really stressful for people who are not accustomed to it, the modern city provides us with a plenty of opportunities to have a better life. It is true that large cities are often overcrowded, polluted and the cost of living is higher in comparison of that in the countryside. However, some advantages like access to better facilities, cultural benefits and an adequate infrastructure reasonably attract people to live there.

With reference to the transport, convenient public transportation systems have been developed in most of modern cities, the use of which is perfectly affordable for nearly every citizen. Thus, people are provided with an alternative of getting around with a personal car which can be very stressful, especially in the rush hour.

Another obvious benefit of urban living is the existence of different ways of entertainment. Some residents enjoy going to the cinema, theatre or attending a music concert, while others prefer walking in parks in their free time. In such big cities social events are often held and for this reason you can never get bored.

On the other hand, the negative aspects of the contemporary city life can make it quite oppressive. The high level of crime in some areas can seriously disturb the people who live there. What is more, living in a big city can be much unhealthier than in the countryside.

All in all, I personally consider that the advantages of modern lifestyle outweigh any disadvantages though they should not be ignored.