There are fewer and fewer employment opportunities for graduates entering the job market and this will have serious implications for higher education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although it is impossible to argue with the fact that the employment opportunities, which graduals have, have been gradually decreasing, it remains to be seen whether this will pose a serious threat for higher education.

One of the reasons for this change is that most employers nowadays prefer to work with old professionals rather than graduals who typically do not have enough work experience. They neglect that younger people are generally more creative and have a greater desire to work to achieve their goals. Other considerable factor is that some employees expect too high salaries for their job at the very beginning and refuse proposals which are quite adequate and provide them with an opportunity for a successful career.

While in some particular fields like arts, law and psychology there are more applicants than vacancies, in other there is frantic demand for a qualified workforce. For instance, the necessity of new professionals in the sector of information technologies is projected to continue rising in the future with even faster pace. Therefore, universities must take measures to reform their programmes to match the needs of society. To put in another way, it is essential number of graduates in math and science to be increased and also more students to have an opportunity for postgraduate degree.

To conclude, the recent decline in the percentage of students that receive work proposals after their graduation implies changes in most universities and colleges. However, these changes are most likely to have a positive effect and thus they should not be perceived as a threat for higher education.