Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

Every year, businesses spend millions on billboards, magazines, and internet advertising. These advertisements may persuade consumers to purchase unnecessary things. The highly relevant issue has a number of benefits and drawbacks, which I will expound in the elucidate paragraph.

On the one hand, the merits of corporations budgeting millions bucks on advertising, including online, in publications, and on billboards would be the enhancement of profits and product branding of the company. This means that Bernard Arnault’s corporation allocates their fund to collaborate with Kendal Jenner as a brand ambassador for Louis Vuitton and this famous France brand promotes the products in well-known spots, Billboards in NYC Town Square. Furthermore, the advertising purposes can facilitate societies to discover the latest product of branded items. Particularly, groups of people, socioelite for knowing the variation of products as tertiary needs in their life. For instance, American Societies require them to obtain up-to-date seasonal products in the aim of not only completing a series of collections but also fulfilling their lifestyle.

On the other hand, the demerit of this is that the entrepreneur who lacks experience in managing business plans and strategies may lead a company to go bankrupt. Take WeWork Company as an example, a start up co-working space company which has collapsed because the corporation is unable enough to manage the leases and the debt obligations and also the owner adheres to orthodox teachings. Moreover, most Z generations carelessly decide to take credit and online loans for purchasing unnecessary goods just because of “Fear Of Missing Out”. Eventually, this issue can create depletion savings and mental illness in their life.

To sum up, several types of advertisements which are spent by corporations every single year, carry out the positive sides including the escalation of profits and the ease of people to invent the newest product. Nevertheless, the lack of this can lead the company to be insolvent and drive modern youth stumbled with poor finance.