Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.

- Comics

- Books

- Radio

- Television

- Film

- Theatre

Communicating information is, I firmly believe, an inevitable part of modern life either for advanced societies or developing ones. We communicate through lots of different media like television, radio, books, films, comics, and theatre. The question is, however, which of the six aforementioned media has the most impact on society. Despite acknowledging the significance of books and Radio, I, to a huge extent, believe television is the most effective media.

Books are published in a vast variety of genres and different subjects so one can easily find the appropriate book for him or herself. Books are, in my opinion, still the best format for education purposes. Also, as you read a book, you read it with your own voice in your head and imagine what is happening in your mind which can improve your imagination and help your brain stay healthy. However, the problem with books is that they are harder to read for youngsters and in some cases boring to them. In an article published by national statistics institute the average reading time per person in Iran is less than 1 minutes per day.

Radio was the main media until the late 19th century. Everybody used to have a radio in their homes to listen to music or news in order to stay informed about what is happening around them. But nowadays, the usage of the radio is usually limited to cars and people only listen to the radio while driving. Similar to books, radio is less interesting for the new generation due to the lack of any visual features.

In the other hand, television provides visually rich and attractive contents, especially for the new generation. Television (TV) is currently the most popular media around the world that it seems weird if someone does not have a TV in his or her home. Because of this popularity, TV is a strong medium for government and organizations to send their messages to the mass population. However, the main disadvantage of television, compared to other media like books and radio, is its limited accessibility. You cannot simply watch TV on the way back home in the metro or when you are running or driving, unlike radio.

All things considered, even though the importance of books and radio is substantial, I wholeheartedly believe television, despite its demerits, has the most impact on the society and is the most effective media among all the mentioned media due to its popularity.