Some people believe that it is better for students at university to live far away from home than to live at home with their parents. Which one do you think better and why?

Education has always been a contributory factor in improving the quality of life and it can positively affect many aspects of our lives. some individuals opine that the benefits accruing from living far from home to students are significant. I completely agree with this notion as it can raise the student’s confidence and make them more responsible and independent.

To begin with, there is a direct and positive relationship between studying far away from home and increasing the students’ self-esteem. The longer distance between the students and their parents, the more confidence they would have in their real life, as when students are far from their homes a great number of facilities would not be provided for them and their needs should be met by themselves, which in turn force them to deal with financial, emotional and social problems, thereby making them more confident. According to some latest research carried out recently by Michigan University, the students living far from their parents are able to achieve even better results in exams than those who are living with their families. Therefore, being far away from home not only can bring about more confidence but also can positively affect the academic skills of the students.

Yet another substantially positive consequence attributed to living far from home is to make the students more responsible and independent alike. that is, living in this condition can impose significant financial burden on the students and they are expected to manage and address it, so most of the students choosing to live and study far from their parents are forced to find an occupation in order to make money and obviate the needs, which in turn significantly makes them more responsible and increases their autonomy. Take a student living far from his or her parents as an example; perhaps when he or she arrives home, being responsible for doing his or her homework, making food, and cleaning the house, so he or she has to arrange his or her time to do all these duties because no one else accepts this responsibility, thus living far away from home is bound to remarkably increase a sense of responsibility amongst the students and make them more independent in terms of meeting their needs.

In conclusion, considering the rational points discussed above, although living or studying far from home seems to be tough at the first sight, it can bring about some considerable advantages for the students who experience it.