Some people believe it is better for students at university to live far away from home than to live at home with their parents.

Which one do you think is better and why?

Education is, I firmly believe, an inevitable part of life either for modern societies or cultural ones. The question is, however, whether it is superior for students to live away from their parents rather than staying home with their families or not. Acknowledging the advantages of living with parents, as a person experienced both of the situations, I am an advocate of the former perspective.

There are numerous benefits of staying at home. To begin with, from an economic point of view, if you prefer to stay away from home, you either have to rent your own apartment or stay at university dormitory which both cases will be more expensive compared to staying at home with your parents. Moreover, students who are living with their parents have their support which can help them to succeed in university. Also, they don’t have to do their cooking or cleaning so they can save their time to study more.

On the other side, living in a university dormitory has many advantages too. it can help students to improve their marks. For instance, even if you are a lazy student, when you see others put hard work in studying and try to achieve what they want, you get motivated to study too. Beside that students usually study together which help them to find their errors and weaknesses and resolve them. In addition, it will help them to develop their social skills and become familiar with different cultures by communicating with students from other cities. Last but not least, independence of living away from parents is a huge benefit for students as it will help them grow their confidence and enabling them to live a successful life after on.

All things considered, despite undeniable benefits of living with, I wholeheartedly believe, due to advantages such as positive effects on confidence, grades, and independence of students, it is better to live away from home.