Computer technologies are more accessible and cheaper, as the result, more adults work at home and children study at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

The forth industrial revolution has facilitated the affordability and accessibility of technological advances, making more and more people work and study remotely. From my perspective, while this trend exerts certain positive effects, it leads to more negative ones.

It is true that performing work and study online shows several benefits. The major positive effect is that this trend can allow people convenience. In fact, employees and students can customize their schedules as long as they can have their tasks done without having to stick to customary office and class models. Another benefit worth mentioning is that computer-based working and studying cannot be affected by uncertainties, such as civil unrest or pandemics. The adoption of virtual learning and working has proven its advantage during the Covid 19 outbreak. When many countries have descended into lockdown, businesses and schools, adapting their employees and students to digitalised operations, have appeared to continue to thrive.

Conversely, there are some drawbacks of Internet-based working and learning. The first disadvantage worth mentioning is that people may have specific soft skills weakened. In fact, they tend to spend more time overdosing on screens, exchanging information via texting and emails, than engaging in in-person interaction. This means that their communication skills may become rusty. Furthermore, due to staggered active times, people tend to finish designated tasks independently rather than brainstorm with others, thus, there would be little teamwork spirit at work and school. Another drawback stems from the fact that people may fail to maintain their productivity when working or studying at home. Even though remote working and learning can allow people flexible time, it seems difficult for them to stay disciplined. Indeed, they tend to procrastinate due to the temptation of social media, entertainment activities as human nature. Thus, they may struggle to achieve their desired results. Eventually, working and studying online can be subject to technical disruptions.

In conclusion, working and studying on virtual platforms can have certain advantages.

However, my firm conviction is that this trend can cause people’s interpersonal skills, productivity to deteriorate.