Computers are becoming an essential part of education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion

Information technology is more and more ubiquitous as a key part of learning. Though there are several drawbacks regarding this statement, I do believe that the benefits of using computers in the education system are more noticeable. This essay will first demonstrate that the usage of computers to find out information sometimes leads to plagiarism, followed by a discussion of how information technology helps students' coursework more simply.

Despite the convenience of computers when searching for information, it can lead students to be lazy in their studies and ignore the tasks which are needed to be completed. If they want to search for something about their academic work, they will easily access the Internet, find some webs to read; but, they do not filter the information, just copy all of them and paste into their papers. Therefore, it can result in plagiarism - an illegal action of education. For example, a survey of the Sunday Time found that there is over 70% of college graduates in the UK had admitted to copying the information from the Internet more than 50%.

However, the aforementioned disadvantage can be overshadowed by the advantages of utilizing the information technology as it is playing an important role in learning. Thanks to the instant ability of information when using the tools of computer, students can easily access much more information about anything they do not know in school since they are once limited knowledge to the books and the teachers or even in their life. Learning anything more fully and profoundly just by the touch of a button on the keyboard. On daily basis, we cannot deny that Google is a search source that is used by people all around the world. Having a laptop, we have no difficulty getting anything from Google or any other sources to help us for studying and that is why computers are becoming a vital part of education.

Overall, it is a good thing that computers are becoming a prime part of the education system because students can take advantage of them to discover things around, then expand the knowledge they have had before. Because our knowledge is just like a drop of water in the ocean, so we are compelled to acquire more and more knowledge every day and it is not hard when we have our computers to learn.

On balance, the fact that the usage of information technology is considered as an essential part of education for giving more opportunities to improve students' coursework outweighs the plagiarism students can deal with when they want to take the information for their academic work, so they should be more be careful when searching. Moreover, having computers for studying is a very positive step in the evaluation of education.