Computers are becoming an essential part of school lessons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

It is true these days that computers have become an indispensable tool of education. While there are some people who play down the benefits of using computers at school. I believe that learning by computers provides both advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is clear that using computers for teaching at school would bring several advantages. Firstly, computers have abilities to provide students variety of visual aids which could help students comprehend subjects effectively. Therefore, students have a tendency to remember visual presentations easier and connect to them more quickly as they are attractive. For instance, a survey at Millwall school has carried out that students whose teachers used such audio-video and enhanced pictures for teaching tend to have better performance in exams than others. Secondly, computers also provide sources for self-study or study online. Hence, students could also study at home in some particular situation such as issues. For example, due to the outbreak of Corona Virus, computers become the only tool that could continuous teaching.

On the other hand, there are some obvious drawbacks that could be mentioned. In the first place, teachers who allow their students use computer could lead to lack of concentration. They could use computers for their personal’s purposes such as playing games, watching videos or listening to music which their teachers could not probably control . One of this example, when using computers for doing assignments, students usually check their emails, facebook which could not be done when do assignments with pen and paper . In the second place, using computers for studying in a long time would create bad impacts for physical health such as vision problems. Particularly, learning by computers require such times on looking to the screen which reflect harmful rays directly to eyes. According to the scientists, people who spend much time glued their eyes on computer screen has 28% to get a vision issue.

To sum up, although using computers for study might have bad impacts for physical health, we can not deny the positive provided such as helping student comprehend effectively.