Computers are becoming an essential part of school lessons.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

As the world evolves, computers start appearing in every aspect of human life, namely education. This is not surprising news, considering its convenience and benefits. However, like any other technological device, computers have both merits and demerits, which will be discussed in this essay.

A major advantage of computerization is that students can easily process their lessons. Firstly, it encourages students to be more interactive. Children tend to be attracted to recreational activities, thus replacing a tedious paper quick test with a small game on Quizizz or Kahoot will surely enhance their engagement in the lesson. Secondly, almost every information needed can be searched on the Internet. Many students find reading books very dull, thus avoiding the library. However, if they want to get extra information about the subject they are learning, they just have to click a button. Therefore, computers bring out an effective learning environment for children.

In contrast, one of the computers’ benefits can also be their setback. By getting the information they need so quickly, students can develop a dependence on computers. This will hinder their creativity and reasoning skills, as well as spreading the idea that books are no longer useful. In addition, the knowledge they learn from the Internet fades away faster than those they have to spend time studying. As a result, students’ competency decreases.

To summarize, computers in teaching have many great positive aspects if used under close supervision. With moderation, students can have maximum productivity without the threat of computer addiction.