Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Arts is a way to express and store human emotions or opinions about a certain event in history, undoubtedly vital to the society. Many claims that artists should be allowed to freely convey their thoughts as they desire and there should be no laws against it. I disagree with this belief, and my reasons will be clarified in this essay.

First and foremost, given artists complete freedom to do what they want with their works can risk a nation security. Throughout history, conflicts about religions have escalated to an unimaginable level, and there are still many followers that easily get triggered when an opinion stand oppose to their believes. Because artists can display their ideas without restriction, offensive areas in religion may agitate those followers. This results in brawls, or terrorism if the artist is a well-known figure, which endangered civilians’ safety and destroy public property.

Secondly, inappropriate contents that was under limitation or prohibition can be fully expressed in public works. Pornography, fetishes, sexism, and other sensitive contents will be expose to even children, and there is nothing the government can do because of creativity rights. Of course, there are things such as age limit, but these works will nevertheless disturb people and professional critics as a whole.

To summarize, I agree that arts is one of the most important aspect of the world, as it enrich the emotional life. But it is also the most subtle and sensitive form of expression, and without carefulness, it can be destructive and negatively affect people’s mind.