As computers are being used more and more in education, there will soon be no role for the teacher in the classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With technology developing at an accelerated pace, the occurrence of technological devices will become more prevalent in classrooms all over the world. Therefore, some suggest that the role of teachers has become redundant because of this increasing trend while others suggest otherwise. In this essay, I will elaborate on both views and give my opinion on this issue.

On the one hand, integrating technology into the classroom represents a number of benefits for both teachers and students. Firstly, the development of cutting-edge technology has enabled lessons to become more rich and comprehensible. More specifically, the use of technology allows teachers to impart knowledge in the form of slideshows, giving students a pictorial representation. For the teachers, this has made their jobs easier, giving them a mental boost and encourages them to provide more high-quality lectures. Thus, providing teachers a digital teaching assistant. For students in remote areas, technology has helped addressing their educational needs by providing online courses, allowing them to learn at home.

On the other hand, teachers are an unarguably indispensable role in education. Technology although has brought us a myriad of benefits, it also poses health risks to online students. For example, sitting in front of a computer in succession may be susceptible to obesity and cardio vascular diseases. On top of that, computers have a limited resource, they are only capable of teaching what is only programmed while teachers are able to obtain and pass onto students a wealth of knowledge. Because computers are just machines without consciousness, online students lack the human connection and emotional aspect of learning. Teachers go above and beyond of their duties of teaching. They provide emotional support which plays a pivotal role in education. By honoring the students hard work and improvements, students are inspired to learn and develop a sense of appreciation.

In conclusion, it is indisputable that teachers are irreplaceable and plays an important part in a student's academic life and simultaneously help them grow as a person. Although computers are proven to be of great use in the classroom, it should only be served as an aid.