As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the question of whether computers can substitute for teachers or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although computers bring a number of merits in education, the teacher’s role should not be underestimated.

There are a number of reasons why teachers should dominate class rather than computers. First, since just teachers, not the computers, have enough educational command to guide students, they cannot be marginalized. In fact, teachers are more flexible than a machine in answering all questions or confusion of students, especially unusual or unprecedented questions, thus helping them gain a better understanding of any topics taught. Seconds, by conducting a variety of activities in class, teachers can assist students to enhance their social skills. This means that through the presentation, discussion activities, teachers can foster soft skills of learners, such as communication skills or logical thinking ability, which is conducive to students’ cognitive development.

However, the presence of a teacher is essential for students because human contact influences them in positive ways. First, in order to create a role model of a good personality for children, an exemplary teacher is always the best choice. In fact, students should realize that instead of dealing with a machine, they are directly contacting with a human being who deserves their attention and respect, which is more effective to educate children and complete their manner. Second, by relying on their student’s learning process and level of understanding, teachers could make a sufficient and effective curriculum and the teaching robot is unlikely to carry every student one-by-one like a human being. For example, in the same classroom, students with differences either knowledge or social background would be tied to a slow advance in their studies because of others’ incapacity of understanding, which requires a suitable teaching method from a teacher more than a computer.

In conclusion, a teacher plays an important and irreplaceable role in the classroom. By using computers as a multifunctional supporter, teaching at school could be easier and operative.