In the future, it seems more difficult to live on Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching another planet to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, space projects to find extraterrestrial life have been receiving a great deal of public attention from the community. Although these programs may appear attractive, the downsides will be significant.

There are compelling reasons why the programs that look for new planets like the Earth will be meaningless. First, since the cost of space projects is prohibitively expensive, many countries will fail to pay them in the long run. In fact, it will cost millions of dollars for the crew, researchers, and scientists involved in this field, leading to budget deficits as an unexpected result. Second, by making space travel to discover the same terrain as the earth, many people responded that the chance of success is very slim. For example, it takes hundreds of millions of years to bring people to the nearest planets, like Mars, but there is no guarantee that there is life, not to mention the life expectancy of people is limited, which implies that such schemes will offer little returns.

In addition, the human is the deciding factor whether or not to look for a new planet. First, in order to guarantee that life will be continuous on a new planet, human has to change their own awareness. In fact, even if people could find out the second Earth with abundant resources and ecosystem likes the beginning, human with a terrible consciousness still endlessly destroy the new one by excessively exploiting and devastating. Second, by focusing on solving the recent problems involved in our environment such as ozone depletion, deforestation, environment contamination, …, nations could together recover the Earth instead of dodging the destruction of the Earth and beginning the ravage of a new planet. For example, countries should promulgate strict and deterrent laws about protecting the environment, which is more beneficial to our planet than looking for a new world because of human’s benefit.

In conclusion, space projects to find extraterrestrial life may have lots of risky drawbacks. By applying suitable methods and deterrent laws, people could avoid environmental destruction as well as retain the natural balance of the ecosystem.