Computers are being used more and more in education Some people say that this is a positive trend while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion

It's undeniable that the use of technology has escalated tremendously in almost every sector, including the education sector. While one group feels multimedia or the use of computers can be beneficial to the young learners, others point out the harmful effects of the use of technology in the classroom and at home. In the following paragraphs, I will be highlighting both of the views and giving my viewpoint.

While computers are replacing the conventional methods of teaching, there are some factors that prevent its wholehearted acceptance in education. Firstly, easy ingress to computers and similar equipment may make the learners careless. Instead of using it to educate themselves, they might spend more time playing games and searching for unwanted information. This not only leads to addiction but also diverts the purpose of learning. It may further lead to health issues like obesity, eyesight issues as the young ones will not involve in physical activities. Secondly, being a machine, the computer lacks the human touch that a teacher can provide. One may get loads of information from the internet through the computer, but unlike a human educator, it will not be able to motivate the learn er or develop skills like leadership, perseverance and teamwork. Finally, using content from the world wide web on the computer without citing references or proper paraphrasing may lead to plagiarism.

However, it is undeniable that administered access to computers for a restricted amount of time can help students. Additionally, advanced technology plays a crucial role in educating youngsters and developing their learning potential. The reason behind it is students accessing more information on the internet that they were devoid of before. Moreover, because of hi-tech services and globalization, students can now learn from home, regardless of their location.

To conclude, I would like to say that although the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of using a computer in education, this mode of delivering enlightenment is being accepted gradually. One step that can be taken to ensure that the young people do not misuse the access is to limit the time they spend on the machine and to keep track of what they can access.