Some people think that boys and girls should be educated in the same school Others however believe that girls achieve better results when educated in single sex schools Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Some people claim that boys and girls should be taught in mixed schools has been a trending topic ever since the initiation of women’s rights movements. Many believe that the practice of teaching boys and girls together in the same school should be continued, while others argue genders must be taught separately. This essay will focus on both opinions.

Firstly, in a co-educational school, children often get distracted by students of the opposite sex. Girls may get infatuated by boys or vice-versa, and such distructions can hurt their scores and overall academic performance. One clear example is I went to a school for both boys and girls and found that I had to deal with many more distractions compared to friends who attended the local girls-only college.

Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. For instance, mixing both sexes at school helps to develop social skills and makes people less awkward around the opposite sex later in life. School is a place since children have more opportunities to communicate and interact with people of the opposite sex at an early age, they will learn how to cooperate with each other.

By going to mixed-gender schools, children of both genders will have equal opportunities to participate in all subjects. Assignments are given based on need instead of preconceived societal notions and there will be no favoritism towards one gender. Therefore, gender equality can be enforced in the school environment.

Although both sides of this argument have indisputable virtues, it is felt that practice of educating male and female pupils in the same school is much more of a positive development than negative. Therefore, it is hoped that the trend of co-education schools will continue to be the norm the world over into the foreseeable future.