Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that computers have changed the whole world since they were invented. While I agree that computers have played an important role in our lives for the last hundred years, I believe that they are far from the most vital innovation.

Admittedly, people derive a large number of benefits from the invention of computers. First and foremost, computers provide individuals with different ways to relax. With the proliferation of modern computers, entertainments such as video games and 3D movies are becoming more popular than before. For example, children in Vietnam might spend hours watching animated cartoons without getting bored. Looking back on the past, people's lives seemed tedious as there were not many means of entertainment for them to choose. Another reason is that computers have changed the way information is stored. A computer can store huge amount of data that cannot be kept in a human brain. Apart from that, documents contained in a computer can exist for a really long time, which help people to retrieve old news and have better understanding of the past.

However, there are some other breakthroughs that are as necessary as computers, such as the internet or nanotechnology. Firstly, the internet is beneficial to people in all aspects. From an educational perspective, correspondence courses via the internet are a great approach that allows students to attend any classes, regardless of distance or time. From a cultural perspective, learning about exotic traditions and customs has never been this easy by using the internet, which helps to enhance mutual understanding among nations. Secondly, applying nanotechnology on a large-scale may lead to a promising future. In healthcare industry, using nanobots tends to cure more quickly with less pain than other remedies do. Besides, the production of super materials based on nanotechnology is likely to create more sustainable objects.

In conclusion, although computers are indispensable in our lives, I disagree that they are the most notable innovation over a hundred years.