Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

it is true that some scientific research is conducted by private cooperations, and others are run by the state. While some people believe that companies should be allowed to carry out research on their own, I would argue that it is the responsibility of the governments to be in charge.

The private cooperations claim that they are qualified enough to undertake scientific research, but there are some potential problems may arise. Firstly, the quality and objectivity of the projects might be compromised. companies tend to be tempted to manipulate results of the research in order to maximize profits. This can lead to pernicious effects on the public, especially when the study is related to our health. Secondly, private companies are likely to choose projects that are financially beneficial, regardless of social consequences. In stead of carrying out research which would help to solve imperative problems now, they tend to fund promising research to their own business. For example, many agricultural companies have conducted research on genetic engineering, despite unproven effects of genetic-modified crops on people's health and the environment.

However, there are convincing reasons why the governments need to be responsible for funding and supervising scientific projects. For a financial perspective, the governments have a larger budget than private companies do. scientific research is usually exorbitant, which may be beyond the means of private oganisations. Meanwhile, the goverments have regular income from taxes and therefore could allocate part of the public purse for scientific study. In terms of social responsibility, research conducted by the state seems to offer a wide range of benefits. The governments should provide funding for university departments to carry out high-quality research. In addition, some specific areas of science that are important are likely to be prioritized, taking into consideration the needs of society, both present and future. One example is the development of sustainable energy to meet growing demands.

In conclusion, I profoundly believe that the governments should bear sole responsibility for scientific research.