As computers can translate all languages very quickly and accurately, learning a foreign language is a waste of time. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is true that, learning a new tongue has become the latest trend of 21st century. With the development in techinical world, people can easily translate the aboriginal language to their native tongue, and spending time to acquire a new language is not considered useful these days. I disagree with the statemnet as it will make humans overdependant on computers.

Firstly, by learning a new language people develop a skill which helps them to communicate with people of other nations. Since it narrows the communication gap between folks, it will also help to bring the culture and economies of various nations together. Moreover, such a practise enhances learning ability of an individual by triggering several areas of their minds. As an example, a study was conducted by the Harvard university which revealed that people who were continuously putting more efforts to acquire different language skills had increased activity in the dormant areas of their brain. They were able to perform other algorithmic tasks more rapidly. Thus, it can also help in the development of mind.

Furthermore, rather than depending on computers, if humans will learn the language themselves then it will boost their confidence levels. It will also open the doors for more employment opportunities for them. In addition to this, artificial intelligence is not a reliable source as many a times an individual may not have access to computers while they are conversing with a foreigner. Along with it, computers fail to interpret the emotional content in speech which is of utmost importance for a successful interaction.

To conclude, although computers can perform the function of translator more accurately and rapidly, but learning of language by humans is neccessary for communication in real life. So, they should devote some time to new languages and develop novice skills.