Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

It is true that consumers are being bombarded with advertisements from competing businesses. Although there might be some negative impacts on buyers, there are a number of practical measures that governments and individuals may employ to tackle this issue.

On the one hand, there are several certain problems that consumers are faced with advertisements. The first one is that people are often persuaded to follow the latest trends that they do not really need. The images of celebrities are used in many commercials, especially cosmetics, to encourage customers to purchase the new versions that are being advertised. However, most of those products are of little use to buyers. This could be seen as a waste of money. The second one is that children and young people may easily be influenced by adverts . They put pressure on their parents to buy things such as fast foods and junk foods that may not be good for their health. This may cause conflicts between family members if parents deny their children something they want to buy.

On the other hand, several solutions could be taken by individuals and the government to address these issues. Firstly, individuals should become wise buyers. They should take their needs into account before buying something to avoid wasting money. Secondly, the government should control or even ban adverts aimed at children with unhealthy products that can be a risk to health should display warnings.

In conclusion, there are various negative effects on purchasers, referring to buying unnecessary things and causing a bad connection between parents and children. However, appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these issues not only by individuals but also governments.