Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them

Customers must have to deal with an increasing number of commercials from rival companies. I partially consent to the advertisement’s influence on buyers to some extent, however, a number of solutions will be expounded in the elucidate paragraph.

On the one hand, in my viewpoint, there are more competitive businesses placing advertisements in front of consumers because of their fear not to be left behind with the latest trend. One of the concerns in ads strategy is that people would be hypnotised to purchase superfluous spendings (food and fashion). Eventually, it may lead them to waste money when they can invest the cash for long-term plannings. Furthermore, purchasing behaviour is driven mostly by the emotional mood which prompts irrational decision making. This means that too much shopping impacts on our mental health, even worse suffering from obsessive-compulsive disorder, as surveyed by the National Institute of Health.

By contrast, there are plausible solutions to this issue which lead the government to strictly control the advertising policies. This rule can not only avoid surplus spendings, as enacted by the UK Government to enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of communication spend. Furthermore, customers’ awareness of self-control and financial budget plays an important role in bad impacts from various types of ads. In connection with cutting-edge era, the advertisements have transformed to online where customers are able to filter their needs, thus, they can save their own money to keep the stability of self-finance.

To sum up, in my viewpoint, developing numbers of promoted products which are encountered by customers carries out reasonable factors such as FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) to join and the emotional state compulsion of watching the ads. Nevertheless, the notable solutions of this issue includes stricter ads policies and self-awareness.