Consumers are facing an increasing number of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In the context of severe competitive commercial activity nowadays, people are experiencing a frenzy rise of advertisements from different corporations grabbing limited opportunities to attract consumers. I firmly believe that this excessive promotion culture is highly manipulating customers’ purchasing behavior and proper governmental initiatives should be launched to address the drawbacks of any unauthorized promotions.

Commencing with, marketers are continuously implementing a variety of strategies that are creative and catch up with customer psychology on multi-channels in order to draw people’s attention to purchase their product. To be more specific, utilizing the fact that people have a tendency to trust and imitate their idols, who are almost famous singers or actors, many companies hire well-known celebrities as their endorsement. Indeed, it is familiar that one person can spend even a large amount of money to own the shoes of a certain brand that their idol is wearing. In addition, online marketing, in the digital world nowadays, become an effective tool for companies because people spend most of their spare time browsing online webs. Even thanks to artificial intelligence, companies could know which kinds of websites or online platforms their target customers usually visit and then focus on running advertising on such places. As a result, whenever people are online, so attractive advertising boards are that their minds are spurred to click on and they are likely to buy those products even if it is not their intention before.

However, some dishonest companies might include misleading or false information, exaggerate the real quality of their products or services to make profits and neglect the public interest where the government can play an effective role to check this deception. It is recommended to establish an independent committee to regulate and manage the quality of the advertisement. For instance, the government could enact laws to prohibit companies from sending advertisements through email and instant messengers if they do not receive consent from consumers. Furthermore, the government can educate the public to stay vigilant on advertisements through various online and offline platforms. These approaches can alert consumers to do in-depth research and investigate the facts before making their purchase decisions.

In conclusion, because of an exponential increase in marketing promotions, people’s purchasing decisions are definitely influenced profoundly, but governments need to take action to deal with the negative impacts of this.