In contemporary society, food has become easier to prepare. Drawing on specific reasons and examples, do you think this has had an impact on the way people live?

Modern kitchen appliances and half-ready food products have eased the preparation of food. It has obviously had a great impact on the way people work and spend their leisure time.

Sophisticated cooking machines are widely used in the kitchen which saves a great amount of time for working people. In the past person who spent almost half of his day at work had to cook, which was quite tiresome, using simple kitchen tools spending another few hours. Fortunately, nowadays it requires only a few minutes to make the food ready thanks to a food processor, a microwave oven and other gadgets which allow the person to concentrate on their job, which, in turn, improves productivity. Also, working women chop and mincemeat or onions using an electric mincer, which consequently makes them be able to acquire education, work and make a career.

Moreover, frozen foods make a great contribution to improving people’s social and leisure life. Processed food products such as half-baked pizzas, canned fish and meat and tinned vegetables and fruits have decreased the time people used to spend in the kitchen in half or even more. The only thing they need to cook is a microwave oven and a few minutes. The rest of the spare time is then spent on reading books to enlarge worldview, doing sports to keep fit and healthy, or having a great family time to strengthen family bonds.

To sum up, I believe that people’s social wellbeing, working conditions and leisure time have become more available after the introduction of hi-tech kitchen devices and the production of processed food. Were it not for these, cooking food would not have been as simple and quick as this.