Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent opinion for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

It is often said a prep school is a perfect place to educate children, especially, in today’s distracting technology-filled world. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support the boarding education cite the various benefits that the school can bring to a student. These range from learning discipline to being independent and managing daily routines. For example, obeying the school rules and keeping the rooms organized contribute to this strand of development, which add greatly to a child’s all-round education. Another argument is the academic support that children receive at school with no any distraction, meaning that the student is able to acquire more knowledge at a boarding school than the normal schools. Also, the student is well-focused on studying rather than wasting time on watching TV and playing games.

By contrast, opponents of the view point out that not all children can financially, physically and psychologically be ready to study and live in the boarding school. Examples can be seen in less affluent countries, where the expense of sending the child at a special school may be unaffordable. In addition, even in many developed countries, many children live in unstable family environments, due to such problems as unemployment and underpayment. For these families, parents would probably send their children to public schools. Finally, not all young people actually want to stay away from their families because of their strong emotional family ties or their physical disabilities. Therefore, independent life for some youngsters at boarding schools should not be encouraged.

Overall, it seems advisable that the decision to study at prep schools should be based on a child's interest, ability and family circumstances, rather than general view that the boarding schools are an excellent choice for children.