contention is well-grounded and it is necessary to analyze the driving force behind this predisposition.

Nowadays the mass media seems to prioritize men’s sport shows and devote a restricted amount of their coverage to sporting events of the opposite gender. There is a perception that it is a prejudice against women and runs counter to gender equality in today’s society. From my perspective, this contention is well-grounded and it is necessary to analyze the driving force behind this predisposition.

One primary reason is that spectators of female sporting shows account for a significantly higher proportion than their female counterparts. This means that men’s sports programmes generate more television royalties for broadcast channels due to their high audience ratings. For example, televising a men’s football match during prime time of Premier league help media channels make a handsome profit because of its global reputation. In contrast, broadcasting matches of the opposite sex with lower popularity is likely to put these media corporations at risk of going bankrupt since there will undoubtedly be less broadcasting contracts for them. As a consequence, it is not surprising that TV channels show a preference for male sports matches.

Despite the arguments mentioned-above, it is my opinion that more showtime should be given to the broadcast of women’s sports events. At present, professional females athletes generally receive much lower remuneration than sportsmen. This is because their sports club do not not have easy access to sponsorship and advertising contracts when the frequency of their matches on the air face time constraints. Thus, more TV coverage should be given to female sports shows, which could directly boost their currency, thereby enlarging female sportswomen’s monthly compensation. In this modern society where increasing emphasis is placed on gender equality, a modification on preferences of TV channels could make a contribution towards this objective.

From the above-mentioned arguments, while a partiality for male sports shows is an inevitable inclination because of their lucrative nature, an increased consideration for women is a pressing need.