Q3: Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think their parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While one school of thought holds that it is advisable to inflict appropriate punishment on young offenders, others are adamant that imposing penalties should be implemented on their parents. This essay will first closely scrutinize/elaborate on both views before concluding that I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people propose that giving punishment to children who are engaged in violent crimes is crucial, as it will refrain them from re-offending the crime. Perhaps the foremost reason would be that caregivers cannot determine their children's character and are not always blameworthy in every circumstance. This is commonly seen in children with mental health issues, such as neurological disorders. In addition, children also tend to be susceptible to criminal behavior when they are overexposed to bad social backgrounds. Therefore, proper punishment will prevent them from repeating their bad behavior in the future.

On the other hand, I side with those who say that penalizing harsh penalties on parents for the destructive behaviors of their offspring. The critical rationale in favor of this notion is that children are malleable at their ages, and parents always play a crucial role in molding young children's mindsets. Therefore, caregivers should take responsibility for their children's law-breaking actions. This can be seen in young children living in abused households, who can effortlessly imitate their upbringers' acts and will consider extreme activities a regular habit. Furthermore, parents' indifference toward their children is a significant factor that leads to unexpected actions by children. In fact, it seems that most modern parents do not tend to spend quality time with their kids to focus on their manners or social life to detect their offspring's problems. Given these, parents should bear responsibility for their children's crimes.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for the introduction of punishments for child offenders, I am convinced that parents should be punished and responsible for their offspring's behavior.