I disagree with this viewpoint and believe that the imposition of taxes on imported food is of paramount importance to the agricultural sector of a country.

Today there are plenty of opposing opinions about whether countries should impose tariffs on food products imported from overseas or not. Many people hold the view that these taxation systems are non-essential and should be abolished. However, I disagree with this viewpoint and believe that the imposition of taxes on imported food is of paramount importance to the agricultural sector of a country.

On the one hand, those who oppose agricultural tariffs argue that they lead to uncompetitive and ineffective farming practices. This argument highlights the fact that when domestically produced foodstuffs does not have to be confronted with the rivalry from imported commodities in terms of prices, farmers tend to be complacent and lose impetus for refining their products. May developed countries like America, Germany have eliminated a variety of taxes on imported food. Consequently, fair competition, together with a great number of competent farmers, has come into existence. For this reason, the opponents claim that other countries should together remove tariff protection.

However, I personally believe that tariffs will help safeguard breeders, cultivators and the domestic agriculture against the dominance of imported products in their own market. Undoubtedly, without tax barriers, innumerable types of foreign goods will flood the domestic market. It is very unlikely that local produced food could rival these non-domestic food products, especially if the country is in disadvantaged regions like Africa or Southeast Asia. This is the reason why anti-dumping duties have been put into effect by many countries to protect the national agriculture against external threats. In general, tariffs are an important contributor to food security, which must be a country’s first priority under any circumstance.

In conclusion, although many individuals object to the levying of tariffs on agricultural produce, I claim that they have an important role to play in the sustainable growth of a country’s food production.