Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and methods of preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, as the food industry has bloomed, convenience foods have become an indispensable part of one's diet, threatening traditional cuisine. However, from my perspective, traditional foods and methods can not be outshadowed by convenience ones.

On one hand, junk food has become an optimal choice for a section of the public. To be more specific, since many people are immersed in their work, they have no time to cook for themselves and their family. As a result, they opt for convenience foods because they demand little time and effort.

On the other hand, traditional foods are superior to fast foods. Firstly, conventional foods are more nutritious than junk foods. It is reported that many convenience dietary products use chemical substances to lengthen their expiry dates. Meanwhile, cooking at home entitles people to choose high-quality raw ingredients, adjust the amount of salt, sugar, etc that not only suits their taste but also benefits their health. Secondly, traditional foods reflect one’s cultural values, which makes them incomparable. It’s every nuance of those foods that has been embedded in every one’s mind, reminding them of their blissful childhood, families, memories, and so on. For example, people who have been away from home for a long time, hometown cuisine is their aspiration. Although it is not difficult to find those foods in their residence, the feelings, tastes, cooking methods, etc cannot fulfill their nostalgia. Last but not least, more and more traditional eateries are being opened to preserve the taste of long-established values. As a matter of fact, a horde of Tik Tok creators, food reviewers, etc have a tendency to choose the restaurants and vendors that incorporate traditional cooking methods, assisting traditional dishes to access more and more people, especially youngsters.

For these reasons, I believe that despite the increasing prevalence of convenience foods, traditional foods still play an irreplaceable role in human’s life.