In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

In this day and age, given that traffic problems are escalating, it is debatable whether governments ought to levy tax on private car owners heavily and use the money to allocate for public transportation quality. This essay will delve into the pros and cons of such a solution.

On one hand, the aforementioned approach can do wonders for the whole society. To commence, the number of cars will be curbed thanks to the heavy tax. Specifically, as the new tax is adopted, more people have to be wary about their decisions to purchase and own a car, culminating in less demand for cars. As a result, the traffic emissions, the main culprit to air pollution, will dwindle. Secondly, traffic congestion can be controlled due to this solution. To shed light on, it is the poor condition of public conveyance that blights one’s experience, resulting in their unwillingness to use public transportation again. Therefore, if the money gained from car tax is allocated for revamping public transportations, the upgraded quality will attract more and more commuters.

On the other hand, some demerits still exist in this remedy. Firstly, public transportation cannot meet everyone’s demand when it comes to traveling a long way. Owing to fixed routes, public conveyance is not available at any time, causing difficulties for people to catch. For example, people have to wrestle with an unexpected event if they have no choice but to wait for the next bus. Moreover, in some areas, the network of public transportation is not wide enough, rendering commuters unable to use or have to endure overcrowding. Secondly, levying a heavy tax on car owners may wreak havoc on the car industry. Due to the fact that this sector makes up a huge part of the economy, if the demand for cars decreases, many countries will endure a gigantic loss of interest. Simultaneously, the escalating unemployment rate may also be a consequence of this policy. Car industry has created scores of jobs for citizens, including mechanics, car assemblers, etc. Hence, if this solution is applied, many people will suffer from being unemployed, unable to support their family as well as committing misdeeds.

In conclusion, I opine that besides the advantages such as reducing air pollution and traffic congestion, as well as encouraging people to use public transport, this solution still contains some problems such as inflexibility, economic downturn. Therefore, it should be pondered thoroughly whether this policy should be incorporated or not.