In some countries, teenagers have part time jobs while they are still at school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Adolescence is the formative stage in every human’s life, taking the role of creating their characteristic, skills, and so on. It is reported that in some countries, children of this stage have part time jobs while they are still at school, which is very controversial. From my perspective, this can be advantageous for teenagers for three benefits: life skills, job experience, and sharing financial burden.

First and foremost, taking up a career at an early age allows adolescents to gain life skills, especially teamwork skill and time-management skill. While in the workplace, a teenager not only has to learn how to synchronize with other workers but also how to balance the time spent on working and studying. As a result, their life skills will be progressively enhanced.

Secondly, having part-time jobs is a job-oriented medium. To be more specific, teenagers have chances to find out which fields they are adept at, which is essential for them to choose their future career. For example, if working in a cafe suits an adolescent, he can choose to open his own store in the future. Moreover, in the same recruitment, a teenager who is experienced is more likely to be chosen by businesses in comparison with an inexperienced one.

Last but not least, taking part in the labor force grants an adolescent to share family financial burden. Many parents now have difficulties in earning enough money to provide necessities for the whole family, resulting in the poor living standard, parental depression or even worse, divorce. Therefore, a teenage job can partly solve the problem, hampering the possibilities of bad consequences.

For these reasons, I believe that not only teenagers but also their families can benefit from having part-time jobs.