As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the envrionment?

he private car ownership has increased dramatically across the globe, mainly because of an enormous rise in the living standard and a great leap in technological innovation. I would argue that increasing car ownership has a greater positive effect on individuals although some envrionmental impact cars may produce.

Owing a car allows people to visit a wider variety places conveniently and efficiently,thus improving people’s living standard. Driving a car enables people to go out at anytime they wish. This means people would be more likely to travel farther in search of a good restauant, a well-equipped theatre, a shopping center with a wider selection range, or even to have journey without being bound to fixed schedules provided by public transport. By expanding activity scope and experiencing more, people would feel more satisfied about their life.

Another benefit of increasing car ownership is to boost efficiency, and saves people more time for quality life. Compared with taking public transport which is time-consuming and can only take people to spots nearby intended destinations, driving a car can take people directly to destinations to ran errands, and make it possible to complete more tasks in a day or thus spare people more time to develop personal interests, have quality time with family and enjoy leisure activites.

On the other hand, as people enjoy benefits brought by car, the envrionmental problem becomes a thorny issue. An increasing number of private cars mean more consumption of fuel sources in the form of oil, and more greehnouse gas emissions, one of the main contributors to global warming. However, governments have already taken appropriate course of actions including funding companies to produce electric cars, limiting car use by issuing license plate rule, and compensating private owners to encourage them to switch to energy-efficient cars to alleviate strain on envrionment.

In conclusion, private car users can be benefited in terms of exploring more best possible places and having more free time although envrionmental pollution cannot be ignored. However, several viable solutions adopted by governments can help to reduce the impact.