Some people believe that students in schools learn better when they study in groups. Others say school students learn better when they study on their own. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many hold the view that group learning is a better way to students’ study at school, while there is a body of opinion which claims that independent learning will benefit students more. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate and give my opinion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that by studying together students can have better understanding of what they are learning. This is because other classmates will offer different perspectives about the knowledge instructed by teachers, which means that learners can absorb it in various ways when they choose group study. In addition, studying with others can help pupils learn efficiently, for this study mode can provide them with an environment where they are often required to collaborate in order to complete tasks. To be specific, students do not have to finish reading all the chapters of a book assigned by their professors and instead they should only carry out parts of them when they work with other peers.

On other hand, however, learning independently can help students acquire more knowledge. Compared with those who decide to learn in a group, they can start their learning immediately without waiting until others are ready, which can allow them to spare more time on their study and gain more. Furthermore, through leaning individually, pupils are able to concentrate on their study, as they may not be distracted by the discussion with others when there are problems occurring.

To summarize, there is no doubt that collective studying can enable students to have comprehensive knowledge and study efficiency. At the same time, however, studying alone can make it possible for students to obtain more knowledge. In the final analysis, therefore, I can only conclude that cooperative learning is superior to independent study.