As countries develop, people tend to buy more and more cars. Do you think the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

We are pacing in a rapidly changing era where people are more likely to purchase cars due to society demanding. Some people believe that the method of transportation is an essential need nowadays while others claim that gas emissions caused by cars' engine could be dangerous for the surrounding environment. I personally believe that cars filled with petrol should be replaced with electronic ones for an eco-friendly purpose and so, a better life quality.

First and foremost, cars are the easiest and most valuable way to move worldwide. For instance, millions are the cars sold each year, even in third world countries. Delays are drastically reduced during daily routine thanks to cars capabilities. Moreover, individuals are likely to be less stress at workplaces and they are more concentrated, relaxed and productive. In addition, the personal benefits of owning a car extend to individuals of all age groups, take, for instance, high school students who usually require travelling between school and their part-time jobs.

However, supporters of the opponent view claim that having more personal cars lead to extremely detrimental side effects on the environment. It is noteworthy that gas emissions and fumes emitted by cars are extremely harmful to the environment. The increasing number of cars has brought is the cumulative greenhouse effect. Additionally, as a result of rapidly increasing fuel consumption and consequent carbon dioxide, global warming is at a rise. Furthermore, chest and lungs illness are more likely to happen, comparing to past years. Recent researches have quoted, that the millennials suffer from chronic chest infections more often than their ancestors, as an outcome of their increased daily exposure to harmful gases.

According to the aforementioned arguments, it is evident that the number of car users is increasing in years, despite the side effects that cars have on the environment. As far as I am concerned, cars are an indispensable need in societies. However, they should be used in moderation or even prohibiting the use of cars on certain days.