Countries should produce food for their own citizens and limit food imports as much as possible. what intend do you agree or disagree

A school of thought holds that national food production should be encouraged and dependence on imported food should be reduced. Although i concur that this thinking is beneficial to some extent, i would argue that it is not viable for some nations to achieve complete self-sufficiency due to their geographical and climate constraints

On the one hand, the opinion to creating food for themselves is attractive for several reasons. With national food production, citizens do not have to deal with the lack of food resources or food that can not be transported from other countries, which ensures the food security of the nation. Another major benefit is that they can access food at a more reasonable price as it does not include transportation fees, taxation and other charges that may affect the cost of food. In general, self-produced food is not contained preservatives or toxic chemicals to help with long-distance delivery, making it a healthier choice for consumers than those imported food

Despite the aforementioned benefits, there are a variety of reasons why I believe that reducing the reliance on imported food is not always feasible. This is evidenced by Ireland, a polar country with extremely harsh weather. The temperature of the area is under 0 celsius all year round, making it impossible to grow any kind of plant there. Therefore, importing food from overseas is a need to provide a sufficient amount of food for their citizens. Another large consumer of imported food is Egypt. Most of its geography is desert, which is hard to raise animals or cultivate vegetables to satisfy the national demand of food. In such cases, importing food becomes a necessity to supplement domestic production and ensure food security for the population

In conclusion, while becoming food-independent has several benefits, I am of concrete opinion that it is not always possible to reduce reliance on food imports