Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The consumption of imported food has gained increasing popularity in recent years. However, many people hold a viewpoint that all the food provided for the population should be produced locally instead of being imported from the outside. I totally disagree with this statement and my standpoint will be explained in this essay.

The self-supply of most food for a population has numerous demerits for society. First, the more chemicals for agriculture people use, the worse environment will be affected. In fact, the exorbitant use of fertilizers, herbicides, and pesticides to crops can be released into the atmosphere as harmful air pollutants. Furthermore, heavy rains remove chemicals from the site of food production and transport them to other locations, polluting soils, waterways, and other ecosystems. Second, trying to produce all the food for the population would demand the large share of the population working in agriculture. This means that the governments have to allocate large amounts of labor workforce for many aspects of food production, leading to the lack of investment in other important sectors such as education and health care.

In addition, if the governments place a limitation on food import from other countries, local residents will not have a chance to experience the variety of food. Obviously, due to the different geographic features, weather condition and suitable lands in each territory, countries cannot grow all sorts of fruits and vegetables throughout the year. That is why imported food sources can be very crucial for some nations which may consider the more the better. In America and Canada, for example, some types of food ingredients simply cannot be produced to provide for the population, so most 60% of everything they eat is actually imported from other countries in order to have more food choices.

In conclusion, it is not a good idea for countries to limit cross-border trading of food and just produce it domestically as this would take a toll on the locals and the environment.