Countries(where there is high unemployment)most pupils should be offered only primary education, there is no point in offering secondary education to those who will have no hope of finding a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Job opportunities have always been a tremendous concern of many people, especially ones who are not fortunate enough to be able to access a high level of education. Some people argue that in nations with low employment rates, those who are less likely to find a job should end their study at elementary schools instead of moving up to higher grades. I am completely opposed to this idea because education opportunities must be equally given to all citizens in a country.

On the one hand, I am convinced that the ultimate purposes of education should be to provide essential knowledge and skills which help people live happily and become responsible citizens, not only for finding jobs or career orientation. In a wide range of situations, education helps people react or behave properly to their surroundings. Moreover, adolescence, which is a crucial milestone in the psychological and physical development of children, is the time when they attend junior and senior high schools. Secondary education with the mission to support the cognitive and physical development of children, therefore is extremely important and should be offered to every individual, no matter how impoverished or wealthy their countries are.

On the other hand, the demands for skillful and licensed employees have increased rapidly, even in many traditional career fields such as farming or other manual labor jobs. For example, high-tech agriculture, which has been taken as the top priority for agricultural restructuring in many countries because of its tremendous benefits, requires specific knowledge and comprehension which are unable to be given at primary education level. Thus, workers studying beyond secondary education are more likely to qualify the needs of employers.

In conclusion, students should be offered secondary education minimum level in order to adapt a variety of requirements and challenges in the modern society, not only for career purposes.