Some companies sponsor sport as a way to advertise themselves Some people think it is good while others think there are disadvantages Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is not difficult for us to catch sight of numerous brands ranging from electronic devices to banking services showed in sport events and on players’ shirts. While some people think those sponsorships might taint the sport spirit, I am convinced that this crucial investment enhances the development of both businesses and athletic participants.

On the one hand, many people are concerned that business activities will spoil the fundamental values of sports. Opponents believe companies have considered athletic competitions to be nothing but a fertile business environment in which products can be advertised and sold effectively. Moreover, instead of enjoying a football match in which players devote their talents and skills, spectators have to see distractive and unrelated images shown almost everywhere in the arena, and players become advertisers carrying brands on their clothes. Besides, people believe that it would be unfair if some athletes are equipped with advanced sport equipment which can boost their performance while others are not sponsored.

However, in my opinion, the sponsorships in sports can be a mutually beneficial investment. Firstly, this helps businesses to expand their market, hence better revenue. It is true that major sport events like the Olympics, World Championships or World Cups, which attract millions of watchers, are invaluable chances for companies to advertise their products and find more customers. Secondly, the support of private organisations is a crucial financial source for sport institutes to improve their infrastructure and achievements. When athletic associations are sufficiently sponsored, it stands to reason that they can firmly focus on training instead of worrying about other material conditions. Also, the money can be used to build more public sport yards and therefore encourage people to exercise.

Overall, while others think the enterprises’ monetary contribution can jeopardize the integrity of athletics, I believe this is essential for the survival and development all sides involved.