In countries where there is high unemployment, most pupils should be offered only primary education. There is no point in offering secondary education to those who will have no hope of finding a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The volatile economy has led to the extremely high rates of unemployment in some nations. Therefore, there is an argument that pupils should only study until primary schools since secondary education system is not worthwhile to find a job. However, I do not totally contend this opinion.

Firstly, education is highly believed to be the only way to end poverty. However, the job market has its own upturns and downturns, so it is unpredictable about the workforce in the future. Consequently, pupils should be equipped with professional skills which meet the basic needs of workers. In fact, although the industrialization has replaced some traditional types of jobs like making handmade products, agriculture, and heavy industry; it still provides vacancies for other positions. Therefore, a school student should master a professional skill in order to compete in the labor market.

Secondly, education does not only prepare students for the world of work but also to lead them to become good citizens. Education is nothing less than an acquisition of lifelong skills and all aspects of life. Thus, secondary schools offer them ethical lessons, communicative skills, especially critical skills. If citizens of a country are well-educated, there will be less crime committed such as street accidents, drug use, child abuse or sexual abuse. Moreover, serious issues like welfare system, law reformation or political problems will also be discussed thoroughly by its people. As a result, without mass education, a country cannot have responsible citizens.

From all the above-mentioned, the economy is changing rapidly in today world, children should be educated to at least secondary classes in order to be able for the workforce and also to equip themselves with the necessary knowledge for well-qualified citizens. Therefore, governments and corporations should have more programs to support young students continue to pursue their education.