It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Some people contend that children should be punished in order to realize their wrong action. In my opinion, I do think that punishment is not a thorough method to education children since it brings various disadvantages. Besides, there are some types of suitable punishment that educators and parents should consider to teach their children.

Applying punishments in educating children can bring some drawbacks to kids’ development and occasionally useless. Firstly, children who are frequently punished by their parents or teachers seem to be less confident in themselves. In fact, in some Asian cultures, children are usually hit by a stick several times if they make mistakes, they will become shy and be afraid to try new things or step out of their comfort zone when they are in colleges. Moreover, if they are punished in front of other people, they will have such a great embarrassment. Secondly, children at an early age are too young to understand thoroughly their activities. Therefore, parents should be patient to explain the right and wrong to their kids without punishing them violently. Consequently, punishments are not an ideal way to teach children to behave morally.

However, there are some kinds of punishments what parents and teachers should follow. From the school’s perspective, detention is greatly a soft punishment for naughty children. Only by contributing to the community by cleaning the classroom, schoolyard, or toilets, doing more homework can they recognize their wrong behaviors. For example, modern campuses in America and Japan are applying this punishment in helping kids reforming moral behavior. In terms of parental method, parents should punish their kids by asking them to do self-reflection and apologize whenever they misbehave. Additionally, children can be offered to do some housework in addition to their apology.

From all the above-mentioned, physical punishment is considered not a moral way to educate misbehaved children. Adults should think carefully when punishing their kids in order not to hurt them both physically and mentally.