Crime and punishment

In the context of global history, crime and punishment have long been controversial issues in society. While some people advocate the idea of implementing prolonged jail sentences, I would argue that approaching other methods is more plausible. This essay will discuss both views followed by my personal opinions.

On the one hand, lengthening prison sentences are believed to be practical and perceptibly. First and

foremost, prolonged penalties enable to decrease the recidivism rates of a minor crime. For instance,

criminals, being put under the circumstances of a long time of imprisonment, are likely to have a

second thought whether it is worth spending 10 or even 20 years behind bars for such trivial crimes such as stealing, vandalism, shoplifting and so on. What is more, being settled in prison provides people with more opportunities to execute self-reflection and rehabilitation. As a result, not only do those inmates have more time to mirror their faults but they also get supportive treatments and training, which would accelerate the readiness for reintegration.

On the other hand, there are always alternative solutions which are also recommended. To begin with, improving social welfares should be taken into consideration. In addition, when reaching the stage of a decent life, individuals will never intend to stop living in the lap of luxury, which ensures their hesitation towards illegal acts. Turning to education, the higher the level of formal education learners acquires, the more they can interpret about the impending consequences of causing crimes. Furthermore, investment in moral education is said to eradicate undesirable behaviors. Once having been acclaimed as sinners, criminals should be treated with compassion and forgiveness in order to get back to their unspoiled morality. As a result, showing the act of humanitarianism is the most sympathetic action that government should approve.

In conclusion, despite minor objections, I personally believe that more flexible ways rather than long-life sentences should be applied so as to lead the lost to the appropriate human-being.