Criminals should be judged according to their personal circumstances rather than making them receive a fixed punishment. Do you agree or disagree?

In many situations, apart from noticeable testaments, there are always hidden motives for the mechanism of actions and so do crime cases. Therefore, many concur that criminals should be convicted properly based on their own motives rather than following the unwritten rules. Personally, I root for this opinion in terms of morality.

First and foremost, scientifically speaking, many criminals’ behavior deeply-root from experiences in their past. After researching on many murderers, a group of worldwide professionals has come to the conclusion of the massive factor of traumas or parental behavior on the likelihood of crime commitment in the adulthood. In the renowned series called Hannibal, the serial killer in that series was traumatized and haunted by the brutal and unethical death of his parents and his sisters which then led to the immoral cannibalism in his adulthood. Therefore, provided that the behavior of the criminals is also manipulated by their childhood and adolescents, the authority should concern on each criminals’ situation to convict a suitable punishment.

Moreover, regardless of any situation, this also helps the judgement in giving out the necessary punishment to the immoral criminals. For instance, in the 21st century, there was a stunning news of a child sexually abuse case happened in Korea. After sexually assaulting the little girl, the abuser was arrested and only received a 12-year sentence. The law about sexually assaulting in Korea at that time was not considered as serious as other crime, hence, although having completely destroyed the future of the little girl and having caused chronically mental and physical trauma to the victim, the criminal has been freed in 2021 after serving a 12-year prison in the rage of Korean people in particular and the whole world as a whole. Thus, needless to say, convicting the criminals based on their situations surely outweigh the fixed program.

In conclusion, I totally advocate the suggesting method of handling convictions to criminals as both showing the morality and also putting proper punishment to the right evil.