Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is argued that cycling can bring about various benefits/ is one of the best ways to protect our environment, however, there are still some uncommon pictures in the world nowadays. This essay attempts to shed light on both reasons why it is not common in some regions and address the question how we can improve its popularity.

There are two principal reasons behind the uncommon trend of using bikes in some places, which are the inconvenience and potential dangers for cyclists. Firstly, it is evident that people can not use bikes as a means of transportation when they want to commute a considerable distance. If they do, it will not only take time, but also it may place bikers into potentially hazardous circumstances. Especially, in big cities, traffic roads and a considerable amount of time make travelling by bikes become impractical . For example, in Ha Noi, which is the capital of Vietnam , many parents do not allow their children to go to school by bike due to the dangerous road conditions and traffic jams, which may potentially pose a threat to their safety.

However, I believe that governments always play a significant role in promoting the use of bikes, despite some uncommon cases like that. Firstly, they can take advantage of running campaigns, which urge people to take part in some social activities to protect the environment, such as monthly green days. If authorities conduct these types or programs, people's awareness will be raised and this habit will become a necessary thing in our daily life. Moreover, congestion charging or imposing a tax on car owners and motorists can encourage them to ride a bike frequently instead of using their private transportation.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of biking for the environment, it has become less widespread in many areas recently. However, with the government's prompt response, it can be altered soon.