Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is true that despite the undeniable merits in terms of protecting the environment, bicycles are not a common transportation in many parts of the world. This essay will discuss the reason behind this phenomenon and suggest some feasible solutions to it.

Potential risks involved and inconvenience could be two factors responsible for the obscurity of bikes. Regarding the former, bike paths can be absent in various countries, meaning that cyclists are forced to share lanes with other mobility devices. This kind of movement makes bike riders more vulnerable to collisions with freighting trucks and private automobiles, increasing the number of road fatalities and severe injuries from crashes. Concerning the latter, cycling is often a physically demanding task and causes exhaustion and perspiration at the end of the journey, thereby reducing work efficiency. Owing To these facts, the masses tend to opt for other means of transport other than bikes.

Various measures, nevertheless, can be adopted to address the aforementioned issues. A simple solution to start with is that the government should allocate their budget for separate bike lane infrastructure. This will help minimize unpredicted accidents and guarantee the safety of both cyclists and other traffic participants, hence boosting cycling uptake . As far as companies are concerned, they should implement some bathrooms at the workplace to enable cycle - friendly employees to take a shower when arriving. Such an implementation, to a certain extent, can help avoid some uncomfortable conditions and promote staff’s readiness for a working day.

In conclusion, cycling-related injuries and inconvenience contribute to the unpopularity of bicycles. However, lane segregation and bathroom construction would bolster the fondness for cycling activities of the general public.