Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Although there is no mode of transportation more environmentally friendly than cycling, it is still not preferred in several regions. This essay will discuss some fundamental causes behind this issue and propose solutions to it.

There are some reasons responsible for this phenomenon, namely the lack of proper cycling infrastructure and the habits of people. Regarding the former, the traffic infrastructure of certain regions lacks designated lanes for cyclists while plagued by heavy traffic congestion. This can be exemplified by the case of Ho Chi Minh City, where streets are cramped with cars and motorbikes, meaning that cyclists may be reluctant to use bicycles as they may be at risk of traffic accidents when traveling alongside faster and larger vehicles. As for the second reason, people, especially urban residents, tend to opt for faster modes of transport like buses or cars due to the fact they need to prioritize their time and energy for work and other important activities. This is especially true for those living far away from their workplaces, as they are more likely to suffer from fatigue and burnout after a long commute.

However, there are some remedies that can increase the prevalence of cycling. Firstly, the government should invest more in traffic infrastructure and enhance the quality of roads to streamline cyclists' journeys. For instance, building roads in areas with rough terrains and installing cycle lanes will make people feel safer in using bicycles(,) as these roads minimize the risk of traffic collisions. For those accustomed to other modes of transport, authorities need to implement policies that incentivize them to use bicycles. For example, they can collaborate with corporations to support their staff by allowing flexible working hours and offering financial incentives to people who commute to work by bicycle(,) all of which make cycling a more comfortable and enjoyable activity that more people may choose to do.

In conclusion, the quality of the traffic system and people's habits can lead to the underutilization of cycling despite its environmental benefits. Nevertheless, we can alleviate this issue by adopting the aforementioned measures.